PPU

Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth

(DEEMED TO BE UNIVERSITY)

Sant Tukaram Nagar, Pimpri, Pune-18

October 2014

Department of Radiology

Dr. Amarjit Singh, Dean & Professor

 Participated in "32nd Year International Conference cum Convocation" of International Medical Sciences Academy held on 11th to ^{12th} Oct. 2014 at Bangkok, Thailand. The theme of the Conference was "Update On Medical Sciences".

Department of PSM

- Dr. S. L. Jadhav, Professor was participated as faculty for Basic Workshop in Research Methodology Workshop conducted by Sadhu Vaswani College of Nursing , from 23rd September 14 to 25th September 2014.
- Dr. S. L. Jadhav, Professor was participated as a delegate in the Contact Session I of "1st Advance Course in Medical Education Technology" at GSMC-KEMH-MCI Regional Center, Mumbai, Maharashtra from 7th to 10th October 2014.
 RHTC, Alandi

"World Heart Day" was observed at RHTC, Alandi by 4th year B. Sc. Nursing, 2nd year PB. BSc Nursing and 1st year M.Sc. Nursing students under the guidance of their Principal, Mrs. Kurshid Jamadar.

Posters were presented and Role Play was also conducted, on the theme "Heart choice is not hand choice" by Nursing Students.

Department of Psychiatry

Dr Sameer Guliani, PG Student

He has been declared a winner of National Torrent Young Scholar for the year 2014 that was held at Ahmedabad on 5th October 2014.

Torrent Young Scholar Award is awarded every year in all the branches of Medicine for the best young Scholar in the country. The Medical institutions are divided into 5 Zones across the country viz. North, Central, East, West and South).

Department of Physiology

The Department conducted a seminar on topic Haemostasis on date 23/09/14 from 9.00 a.m. to 11.00 a.m.

The participants were

- 1. Miss Pallavi Singh (Roll No. 243)
- 2. Miss. Arpita Kumar (Roll No. 20)
- 3. Miss. Shivani Vhora (Roll No. 193)
- 4. Miss. Priyanka Sridhar (Roll No. 236)
- 5. Miss. Abhinandini Aggarwal (Roll No. 5)

Miss. Arpita Kumar (Roll No. 20) got first prize for seminar & received a trophy.

Miss. Abhinandini Aggarwal (Roll No. 05) got a second prize for seminar & received a trophy.

All the participants were given participation certificates.

Also, the department has given the prizes (in the form of second-year books-

i) Surgery- Clinical Das

ii) Clinical Hutchison) to the students who stood first and second in the university exam. These are as follows.

Miss. Shweta Takalkar (Seat No- 227) – First rank in Physiology.

Miss. Dubhashi Riddhima (Seat No- 60) - Second rank in Physiology.

Dr. (Mrs.) N. G. Borade, Professor & Head, has been awarded "Mahatma Gandhi Gold Medal Award" Excellence in her respective field on the occasion of 21st National Seminar on "Individual Achievements & National Development" on 2nd October 2014 Chennai by Global Economic Progress & Research Association (GEPRA) New Delhi.

Department of Pharmacology

Following faculty and PG students attended 2nd National Conference on Pharmacy and Medication (ABMH PharmaCon- 2014) held at Aditya Birla Memorial Hospital, Pune on 27th and 28th September, 2014. The Conference was chaired by Dr. A. V. Tilak, Prof. & HOD in the session titled "Importance of Pharmacy practice for better patient care". There ware one oral paper presentation and three poster presentations from our department. The following attended:

Name	Faculty / P.G. student
Dr. A. V. Tilak	Professor & Head
Dr. K. S. Shinde	Assistant Professor
Dr. Lopamudra Behera	JR-III
Dr. Harshal Patil	JR-III
Dr. Suhas H Patil	JR-II
Dr. Pravin Golande	JR-II
Dr. Teja Deshpande	JR-II
Dr. Shrikrishna Shende	JR-I
Dr. Makarand Jadhav	JR-I

Dr. Lopamudra Behera (J.R. III) won the 3rd prize for her poster presentation titled "Evaluation of wound healing activity of topical phenytoin in an incision wound model in rats".

Department of Respiratory Medicine

- European Respiratory Society Conference 2014 was conducted at Munich, Germany from 6th to 11th September 2014.
- Dr. Tushar Sahasrabudhe, Professor ; and Dr. Vaibhav Pandharkar, Senior Resident from the department attended this conference.
- Both the participants were awarded 26 International CME credit points.
- A web conference called "PURVIEW" on topic "What's new in GINA-2014?" was conducted by Chest Research & Foundation. The Department of Respiratory Medicine organized this webcast at College Auditorium on 20th September 2014.
- Total 13 PG students and the faculties from the department attended the same.
- The Department of Respiratory Medicine and Department of PSM had jointly conducted a RNTCP training programme for Nurses on 29th September 2014 at our College Auditorium from 2 to 4 p.m.
- Dr. Khedkar, Assistant Professor, Department of PSM and Dr. Sudhir Dahintankar, Medical Officer, of our department both were the facilitators for the training program. The total number of Nurses present in the RNTCP training programme was 94.

Department of ENT

Dr. Rashmi Prashant R., Assistant Professor

He was awarded for Best Temporal Bone Dissection at the Temporal Bone Workshop held from 12th to 14th Sept. 2014 at Armed Forces Medical College, Pune. All the participants performed a cadaveric temporal bone dissection on separate work stations.

Department of Urology

The annual conference of Urology WZ USICON 2014 was held at Vadodara, Gujarat from Sep 25, 2014 to Sep 28, 2014. Following staff members and residents attended the conference.

- 1. Dr. V. P. Sable (Professor)
- 2. Dr. (Brig.) D.K.Jain (Professor)
- 3. Dr. D. Mane (Asst. Prof.)
- 4. Dr. A. R. Mulay (Asst. Prof.)
- 5. Dr.D.Ghuge (Senior Resident)
- 6. Dr. B. Kadyan (Resident)
- 7. Dr. Naveen Thakur (Resident)

Department of Anaesthesiology

Faculty Achievements

Dr. Sarika Lonkar, Assistant professor attended CME on "Neuroanaesthesia & Use of Dexmeditomedine in Neurosurgery" organised by ISA Pimpri Chinchwad City Branch collaboration with Department of Anaesthesiology on Saturday, 13th September 2014.

Department of General Surgery

Dr. S. P. Dubhashi, Professor

He has been awarded the Dr. Arthur Desa Memorial CSEP by the International College of Surgeons at the 60th Annual Conference of the Indian section held at Bengaluru from 26th to 28th September, 2014. The topic of the lecture was "Diabetic Foot". He was also invited as a Judge for :

- 1. The Dr. A D Sehgal Best Poster session
- 2. The Gastroenterology Award paper session

He was also invited as a member of the Credential Committee to interview the applicants for FICS. The Karnataka Medical Council has awarded 6 credit hours for the conference.

He has been elected as the National Secretary for International College of Surgeons. This was declared at the 60th Annual Conference of the Indian section held at Bengaluru from 26th to 28th September, 2014.